Speaker of the Seimas Viktoras Muntianas: “Political stability in Georgia is important for Lithuania”


Media release of 14 March 2008


Speaker of the Seimas Viktoras Muntianas received representatives of the Georgian opposition – Chairman of the Republican Party David Usupashvili and Secretary General of the Conservative Party Kakha Kukava – at his office.


During the meeting, the guests informed about political problems and relevant issues of Georgia, and discussed the situation in the country after the presidential election. The guests noted that seeking transparent and democratic election to the Georgian Parliament scheduled in May it is very important to eliminate the problems, which occurred during the presidential election. The united opposition attempt to discuss changes of the election procedure with the Georgian authorities; however, the dialogue has stuck.


The guests addressed the Speaker of the Seimas stating that intermediation of Lithuanian politicians, who are trusted both by authorities and the opposition, in search of common contact points between the Georgian position and the opposition may become an impulse for renewal of negotiations. Agreement among political forces of Georgia is necessary in order to organise qualitative parliamentary election, thus demonstrating the country’s political maturity to the international community, and confirming the commitment to defend the country’s interests in a peaceful democratic manner.


Mr. Muntianas highlighted that political stability and development of democracy of Georgia were important for Lithuania, and that our country was worried about the news from Abkhazia and South Ossetia. Still, speaking of the current events of Georgia, we should not forget positive achievements in domestic reforms and foreign policy seeking to meet the country’s expectations of European and Euro-Atlantic integration. The Speaker of the Seimas confirmed that delegates of the Lithuanian Parliament would observe the future election to the Georgian Parliament.


Secretariat of the Speaker of the Seimas

 © Office of the Seimas, 2008